Guest Post-The Wrong Carb Mindset

Hello! My name is Alek, I am a 15-year-old MALE (in a world of ALL female) healthy living/fitness/food/running blogger. My blog is called Run Serve Cook because I run XC, play tennis and like to cook and experiment with food all the time;)

So now onto my first guest post! I was really excited when Coco at  emailed me and asked if I wanted to guest post, I was happy to give it a try!

Carbs. What are carbs? Carbs or carbohydrates are what gives your body the fuel and energy to do anything. Sit, eat, run, workout, anything you name it carbs can fuel it. Carbs along with protein and fats are where all of our energy comes from. Carbs are the best fuel for exercise though because they are easily converted to energy and stored in our muscles for later use. Protein can fuel exercise too but is mainly used for repairing cells and growing muscles. Protein calories and carb calories are not equal because only some amino acids in proteins are usable for fuel. Fats are more calorie dense and also can fuel but the body first uses stored carbs to power through the day.

That being said carbs are ESSENTIAL! Carbs are the most important for endurance athletes and growing teens because if the body has no fuel it starts “eating” itself for fuel (that’s what happened to me). In growing teens without carbs(and more calories than needed) it is almost impossible to grow any more muscle because all energy is put into living. Carbs should account for anywhere from 40%(losing weight)-75%(gaining mass or heavy exercise). I found this online to back this up.

The problem I find is the misconception about carbs people have. I know from experience because I had this misconception also. People think some carbs are BAD and some are just fine. I thought this when I first started my journey to recovery so I asked someone very knowledgeable in the subject and they told me for me carb=carb no good no bad just carb. For someone exercising a lot or trying to bulk up a carb should be a carb don’t overanalyze it.

If you search carbs the first few links all go to websites showing “good” and “bad” carbs. This stuff is good but you don’t need to live always by this! The first link says “What should I eat?” The answer is simple unless you are trying to lose weight, ANYTHING if you trying to grow and gain don’t cower away from “simple” carbs don’t discriminate them and make them feel bad about themselves! They can’t help being tasty but not keeping you satisfied, it is just in there nature!

Now I am not saying some carbs are not better scientifically than others. Some burn slower giving you sustained energy, no crash and satisfy you longer. Some had fiber which helps your digestive system. Some have gluten which some people are allergic to. Complex carbs like whole grains, sweet potatoes, legumes and brown rice are definitely better choices than simple carbs like sugar, pop, cookies and other yummy treats but don’t obsess. Treat yourself sometimes! You deserve it after that tough workout! Instead of 50g of carbs from whole grain bread have a couple Oreos or some ice cream. Live life and don’t let food control you. Don’t avoid certain foods because they are all carbs and no protein.

I know this is all true because over the past month I have done this and gained about 8 pounds! I still look great (click the progress link at the top to see me!). Odds are increasing your carbs you will feel more alive more energetic and more free. Let go of your carbophobia and enjoy!

I hope you learned something from this! I tried my best even though I am not a writer but if you could come check out my blog Run Serve Cook that would be really awesome! While you there enter my giveaway here ! ;)The story of my blog is me trying to live a healthier happier life and get better with people and also get fitter. I am also an aspiring model and soon have a big break were I could get scholarships and signed if I bulk up and look good enough! (see here) Recently I have been growing some and getting some samples to review which I love! I also am hosting my first giveaway right now on amazing Justin’s Nut Butter, go here to see and enter! I also have twitter and instagram @runservecook and a facebook page. If you want to learn more or have questions feel free to ask! My email is alekprus@aol.com.

3 responses to “Guest Post-The Wrong Carb Mindset

  1. Pingback: Just like old times(: | Run Serve Cook

  2. Such a great post! During my ED, I was sooo scared of carbs. Then I finally realized that I NEED them.

  3. Pingback: Marvelous in my (last free) Monday: crushing edition(: | Run Serve Cook

Leave a Reply

